Penalties for DUI in Las Vegas

If you are a traveller visiting Las Vegas, Nevada or even a resident of the city, it is crucial that you become aware of the penalties set forth by the state’s government, particularly when driving under influence (DUI). In several cases in the past, drivers have taken the penalties rather leniently which in return, led to unfavorable circumstances—some minor, others major. The level of graveness, however, depends on the incident. Legally, in Nevada, a driver may be charged with DUI when his/her BAC is at 0.08 or above regardless of whether or not the alcohol has had any effect on him/her. The BAC chart specifically sets the limit at 0.02 for drivers under the age of 21 and 0.04 for commercial drivers. It is important to note, nonetheless, that there have been cases wherein drivers were arrested even though their BAC was below the legal BAC limit. Most cases include swerving, attempts to beat the red light, and so on.

The state of Nevada has imposed two types of DUI Offense penalties, as presented in their legal papers:

  1. Administrative, imposed by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
  2. Criminal, imposed by the court

Administrative penalties are subjected to the following:

  • 90-day driver’s license revocation
  • Requirement to file an SR-22n (a vehicle liability insurance document), and/or proof of financial responsibility
  • Criminal penalties (depending on the incident brought about by DUI

Criminal DUI penalties are subjected to the following:

First DUI Offense:

  • 90-day driver’s license revocation. Note that a restricted license may be issuedafter half of the revocation period has been completed
  • Prison sentence of 2 days to 6 months, or 96 hours of community service
  • Fine amounting from $400 to $1,000
  • Mandatory payment of the tuition to register into a DUI institution
  • Depending on the level of DUI Offense, one may be ordered to attend an alcohol treatment program

Second DUI Offense(within 7 years):

  • 1-year driver’s license revocation (not eligible for restricted license)
  • Prison sentence or residential confinement of 10 days to 6 months
  • Fine amounting from $750 to $1,000
  • Requirement to complete 100 to 200 hours of community service,
  • Depending on the level of DUI Offense, vehicle registration suspension
  • Depending on the level of DUI Offense, one may be ordered to attend a treatment program or may be placed under clinical supervision of a treatment for up to a year

Third or Subsequent DUI Offense(within 7 years):

  • 3-year driver’s license revocation through which a restricted license may be issued. Contact a local DMV office for more information
  • Prison sentence of 1 to 6 years
  • Fine amounting from $2,000 to $5,000
  • Depending on the level of DUI Offense, vehicle registration suspension
  •  Depending on the circumstances, a driver may be ordered to attend a program of treatment for a minimum of 3 years

DUI leading to death or serious injury:

  • 3-year driver’s license revocation
  • Prison sentence of 2 to 20 years
  • Fine amounting from $2,000 to $5,000

Avoid these penalties. Remain mindful of the consequences.

Clarifications or questions regarding the above-mentioned penalties may be coursed through a Las Vegas DUI Defense lawyer. You can call for a consultation with Attorney Ross Goodman at (702) 383 – 5088 or visit 520 South 4th Street Las Vegas, NV 89101