Weapon and Firearm Charges Law in Las Vegas - Criminal Attorney Ross Goodman

Everyone has the right to defend themselves, and Nevada has no problem with someone owning a weapon or a firearm. The problem is that the law or other people can use it against you. Learn more about Firearm charges in Las Vegas.

 

What constitutes as a weapon?

A weapon is classified as any tool or instrument that can be used to attack someone to cause injury or death. Here are a few examples of weapons:

  • Military and homemade explosives
  • Firearms/guns
  • Bladed weapons or tools
  • Blunt weapons or tools
  • Thrown weapons
  • Brass knuckles

 

Weapon and firearm charges commonly used

Assault with a deadly weapon

The crime of “assault with a deadly weapon” is the attempt to use force against another person involving the use of weapons. It doesn’t need physical contact, just the threat of it is enough. If you were making threats and have a holstered weapon, it is still considered assault with a deadly weapon.

Penalties

  • Up to 1 to 6 years in Nevada’s tate prison
  • Fines reaching to $5,000

 

Carrying a concealed weapon

Possession of a weapon without the required concealed carry permit is a criminal charge. Generally, firearms are the only weapons that are permitted to be concealed. There are some restricted areas where weapons are prohibited at all times.

Penalties

  • Has a license
    • Forgetting to bring it: fined $25
    • Brought a weapon to a restricted area: up to 6 months in jail, and/or a fine reaching up to $1,000.
    • No license
      • Firearms and explosives: Category C felony; sentences for one to five years in jail, as well as fines that can reach up to $10,000.
      • Bladed weapons: one year imprisonment and a $2,000 fine.

 

Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon

Felons with past criminal records (especially if it involves violent crime) are prohibited from carrying any form of weapon.

Penalties:

  • Jailed for 1 to 10 years
  • Fines reaching $5,000

 

Unlawful possession of a firearm

Certain people are prohibited from possessing or using a firearm. These people are categorized into two categories:

First category

Anyone under this category are prohibited from possessing firearms:

  • Fugitive from the law
  • Criminal record with a felony
  • Illegal drug users.

Individuals in this category can face one year to sixteen years behind bars and be fined $5,000.

Second category

Anyone under this category are prohibited from using firearms:

  • People who have been judged mentally unstable or have been committed to a mental institution.
  • Illegal aliens in the United States.

Individuals in this category can face one year to four years behind bars and be fined $5,000.

 

Weapon enhancement

Any sentence can be extended if it involves the use of a weapon. It can extend the sentence up to the original sentence’s duration.

 

Improper Exhibition of a firearm

In layman’s terms, this is the irresponsible misuse of a firearm other than for its intended purpose, which is for sport or for self-defense. Improper Exhibition of a firearm is further categorized into:

  • Shooting a firearm in public places is a misdemeanor and can result in a six month jail sentence or a fine of $1,000.
  • Shooting a firearm at a structure or any vehicle can result in a six month jail sentence or a fine of $1,000.
  • Shooting a firearm within a structure or vehicle can result in a one to six year jail sentence or a fine of $5,000.
  • Drawing a weapon and wielding it in a threatening way can result in a six month jail sentence or a fine of $1,000.
  • Aiming at another person without good cause can result in a one year sentence or a fine of $2,000.

 

Get help from a Weapon and Firearm Charges

Anyone indicted for a weapon or firearm charges is already at a disadvantage from the start. Contact a criminal defense lawyer Ross C. Goodman and he will help you fight these charges off and prove your innocence to the court, or get your sentence lowered.

References: