Driving Under The Influence (DUI), commonly referred to as “drunk driving,” refers to operating a motor vehicle while one’s blood and alcohol content (BAC) is above the limit set by the statute, or under the influence of other drugs including those prescribed by the physicians. The BAC limit varies between different statutes, usually between 0.08 to 0.10. Driving on a private property is no defense, but sitting in a non-moving vehicle without the ignition on is probably is. Learn more about DUI by clicking the link below.
NRS 484C.110 | Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
According to Nevada laws, a first time DUI is a misdemeanor as long as it caused no death or substantial bodily harm (injury).
If you are convicted of a first DUI in Nevada. Here are the possible penalties:
- Driver license revoked for 90 days. After 45 days, you may be eligible to apply for a restricted license that will enable you to drive to work and back.
- Jail sentence of at least 2 days and up to 6 months, or 96 hours of community service.
- Fine of at least $400 and up to $1,000.
- Mandatory attendance at DUI school; average cost is $150 for tuition.
- Possible order to attend a substance-abuse treatment program.
Moreover, if your BAC level is 0.18% or more during the arrest, the court may charge you with the following additional penalties:
- $100 fee for DUI Evaluation or Assessment Program
- $40 fee for the Victim Impact Panel
- A Breath Interlock Devices should be installed and maintained on your car for 12 to 36 months (equivalent to 1 to 3 years)
- Based on your DUI assessment released by the DUI Evaluation or Assessment Program, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program will be imposed by the court
Click the link below for a complete details about the first DUI charges.
NRS 484C.400 | First time DUI
The penalties for driving under the influence depend on whether you have previously been convicted of any DUI offense within the past seven (7) years. The 7-year period is calculated from the prior arrest date to the current arrest date. A second time DUI is a misdemeanor as long as it cause no death or substantial bodily harm (injury).
According to Nevada Laws, the following penalties must be impose for the second DUI offense.
- Driver license revoked for 1 year. You will not be eligible for a restricted license.
- Jail sentence or home arrest of at least 10 days and up to six months.
- Fine of at least $750 and up to $1,000.
- One hundred to 200 hours of mandatory community service.
- Possible car registration suspension.
- Possible order to attend a substance-abuse treatment program or undergo clinical supervision for up to 1 year.
For those who have a BAC of .08% or more, additional penalties may be imposed like the following:
- $100 will be charged for a DUI assessment program fee
- $40 fee for the victim impact panel
- Installation and maintenance of a breath interlock device on the car of the offender should be implied for 12 – 36 months
- The offender should undergo an extensive counseling for alcohol and drug – related issues as attested by the DUI assessment program.
Click the link below for a complete details about the second DUI charges.
NRS 484C.400 | Second time DUI
If you are arrested for DUI after the you have been previously convicted of two DUI within the past seven (7) years then your case can be charged as a Class B Felony that is a non-probational offense. The seven year period is calculated from the first DUI arrest date.
If you are convicted of a third DUI in Nevada. Here are the possible penalties:
- Suspension of Driver’s license for 3 years with possible eligibility for a restricted license
- Suspension of motor vehicle registration
- Victim impact panel attendance (MADD lecture)
- SR22 Nevada insurance requirement
- Installation of the Ignition interlock device for 12 months up to 36 months
- Civil penalty of $35
- Rehabilitation program approved by the Health Department of Nevada for a period of 3 years
- Prison sentence of at least 1 year and up to 6 years
- Fines of at least $2,000 and up to $5,000
Click the link below for a complete details about the third DUI charges.
NRS 484C.400 | Third time DUI
In Nevada, there are three ways that a DUI can be treated as a felony:
- If you are convicted with a third DUI offense within 7 years.
- If you are the driver involved in a DUI where there is a death or substantial bodily harm to your passenger, whether that person is a passenger in the driver’s car or someone not in the driver’s car.
- Beginning in 2005, once you have a conviction for a felony DUI, any later conviction will also be a felony.
And in accordance to Nevada laws, the court may impose the following charges:
- Prison term for 1 to 6 years.
- $2,000 to $5,000 fine.
- Victim Impact Panel
- Installation of Breath Interlock Device in your car for 1 to 3 years after your release.
- 3-year driver’s license suspension or revocation, 5-day registration suspension
- $35 civil penalty fee
- Alcohol and drug evaluation
DUI causing death or serious injury
If there is an injury or death ( even on the first offense ) when you are charged with a DUI. The court may impose the following penalties:
- Driver license revoked for 3 years.
- Prison sentence of at least 2 years and up to 20 years.
- Fine of at least $2,000 and up to $5,000.
For a complete list of information, visit the link below.
NRS 484C.400 | Felony DUI
DMV ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION
Being arrested for DUI in Nevada may lead you to a DMV hearing for a possible license suspension. The period of suspension under Nevada Law depends on the number and timing of prior offenses.
- First DUI – If you are convicted of a first DUI, your driver’s license will automatically be revoked for a maximum of 90 days. You may also be entitled to regulated use of your license after 45 days have passed.
- Second DUI – Second DUI offense that happens within seven years after your first conviction will revoke you of your driving privileges for a period of one year.
- Third or Subsequent DUI – Third DUI offense within another 7 years will revoke you of your driving privileges for another three years.
Visit this link for a complete information.
BREATH TEST/INTOXILYZER 5000EN
If you get arrested under DUI in Nevada, the arresting officer will ask you to submit to a breath test at any jail facility within Nevada. Intoxilyzer 5000EN is a type of machine that collect breath in order to measure the amount of alcohol concentration in a person’s body. However, even if the machine is in perfect working condition when a person blows on it, the result may not be always accurate.
NRS 484C.150 | BREATH TEST
If a person is arrested for DUI in Nevada, the arresting officer may require the person to submit to a DUI blood test. However, for some reason that the person refuse to take the test the arresting officer is allowed to use a reasonable force to obtain the blood samples. It is also stated that there is a maximum of three (3) times in a span of the first five (5) hours that an arresting officer can force the person to submit into a DUI blood test.
Visit the link below for a complete information.
NRS 484C.160 | BLOOD TEST
FIELD SOBRIETY TEST
One way of identifying drivers under influence is through the Field sobriety test. The arresting officer will use this test to help establish probable cause to make an arrest. However, field sobriety test is only optional and therefore there is no need to submit to the test if you do not intend to. Examples of Field Sobriety Test includes:
- Walk and turn
- One leg stand
- The pen test
- Stand with feet together and tip the head backwards
- Count the number of fingers the officer raises
- Finger to nose
Visit this link for a complete information regarding field sobriety test.
IMPLIED CONSENT LAW
In accordance to NRS 484C.160, “any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access shall be deemed to have given his or her consent to an evidentiary test”. The test includes breathe, urine, blood or other bodily substance in able to determine the persons blood alcohol concentration. However, the blood test is not necessarily mandatory providing that someone is not hurt or killed, or if you haven’t been convicted of a DUI within the past 7 years.
For full information regarding implied consent law, please click the link below.
NRS 484C.160 | IMPLIED CONSENT LAW
DUI AND MARIJUANA
Driving under the influence of marijuana in Nevada subjects the driver into the same penalties as drunk driving. Technically, if you got arrested even if you are not under the influence of marijuana while driving, there is a chance that you may be convicted if there are still traces of marijuana in your body after administering a blood or urine test. The NRS 484C.110 states that “It is unlawful for any person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access with an amount of a prohibited substance in his or her blood or urine that is equal to or greater than”:
- 2 nanograms per ml. of marijuana or 5 nanograms per ml. of marijuana per metabolite in a person’s blood.
- 10 nanogram per ml. of marijuana OR 15 nanograms of marijuana per metabolite in a person’s urine.
NRS 484C.110 | DUI And Marijuana
REFUSAL TO SUBMIT TO A DUI TEST
Everyone who got arrested for DUI would have to submit to a form of chemical blood alcohol content (BAC) test. This is in accordance to the law that that anyone driving in Nevada is presumed to have granted their “implied consent“. If the arresting officer believe that a person may be driving under the influence, that person may be asked to perform a preliminary breath test (PBT). According to Nevada’s law, if the person refused to submit into a PBT test then the arresting officer have the right to seize that person’s license for a ninety (90) day suspension and may still arrest you for DUI.
Click the link below for full information regarding “refusal to submit to a DUI test”
NRS 484C.240 | DUI Chemical Test Refusals
DUI AND PRESCRIPTION MEDICATION
Nevada law states that there are certain drugs that are prohibited to use while driving. These drugs mostly include Vicodin and some painkillers due to the fact that they can impair the driver’s ability to operate any motor vehicle safely. If a person is arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs then that person is required to submit to a chemical test for blood and urine. That person is allowed to take the test in any medical professional that he or she may prefer.
NRS 484C.110 | DUI And Prescription Medication
In Las Vegas, Nevada. Casinos casually give their customer an extended line of credits to give their customer a more reason to gamble. These extended line of credits are called “casino markers” and is treated in the same way as checks that has a validity of thirty days. If the customer does not repay the casino in time and a notification has been sent out by the casino, the state may then prosecute the customer and may order an arrest warrant.NRS 205.130 | Casino Markers
In Nevada, casino markers is treated in the same way as checks and as such, leaving it unpaid will constitute into a corresponding penalty. In order for the casinos to redeem the casino markers before the state prosecute you for the unpaid markers, they must follow some several steps:
- The casino will draw on your bank account,
- The casino will send you a notification for the unpaid markers,
- The casino will submit a bad check complaint to the district attorney,
- You will notified by the district attorney about the bad check via mail.
The penalties for unpaid markers ranges from a misdemeanor (Possible imprisonment of no more than 6 months with corresponding fine of $10,000) into a Category D Felony (Mandatory imprisonment 1 year up to maximum of 4 years of imprisonment, corresponding fine of $5,000, full restitution of the unpaid markers, and mandatory payment of administrative fees).
NRS 205.130 | Unpaid Markers
PASSING A BAD CHECKS
It is a serious crime to pass checks with insufficient funds in your account. According to Nevada law, Issuing a bad check is defined as the “issuing a check or draft against insufficient or no funds with intent to defraud, that intent and the knowledge that the drawer has insufficient money, property or credit with the drawee”. The penalties for issuing a bad checks is dependent on the amount of money written in the check. The penalties ranges from a possible 6 months imprisonment up to a possible imprisonment of 4 years with corresponding fines. When faced with a bad check case, the first option is that you try to negotiate with the other party. If latter does not want to settle for a negotiation. Then there are several defenses that your attorney may use for this kind of case. A detailed list can be found here.
NRS 205.132 | Passing a Bad Check
Domestic violence occurs between family members or between people who live together or between people in a dating relationship that involves violence and abuse in a domestic context. There are a number of forms of domestic violence. These forms includes:
- Sexual abuse
If you are proven guilty of committing a domestic violence there will be certain penalties attached to it. Learn more about the penalties here.
PROTECTIVE AND RESTRAINING ORDERS
If the Nevada court believes that the person involved in the case faces a threat from any other person. The court may issue a protective and restraining order to protect the life, health, freedom and peace of the person. According to Nevada’s laws, there are two types of restraining orders that the court may issue: the temporary restraining order and the extended restraining order and violation of these restraining is considered a crime with corresponding penalties.
NRS 200.378 | Protective and Restraining Orders
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE WITH STRANGULATION
This is the usage of excessive force through strangulation to a family member or between people who live together or between people in a dating relationship that involves violence and abuse in a domestic context. Strangulation as defined in the NRS 200.481h, is the “intentionally impeding the normal breathing or circulation of the blood by applying pressure on the throat or neck or by blocking the nose or mouth of another person in a manner that creates a risk of death or substantial bodily harm”. The penalties for domestic violence with strangulation is a Category C Felony which is an imprisonment for a minimum of 1 year to a maximum of 5 years with a fines of no more than $15,000.
NRS 200.481 | Domestic Violence with Strangulation
LAS VEGAS DOMESTIC VIOLENCE FACTS
There are certain things that you should know regarding domestic violence in Nevada. This includes the person involved in domestic violence, the reason the charges is filed, the difference between misdemeanor vs felony and the dropping of charges. These facts will raise your awareness about domestic violence and will be helpful in the long run. All of these facts are explained here.
BATTERY DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
According to NRS 200.481a, battery is defined as means any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another. These unlawful use of force includes the following: any kind of hitting, pushing or shoving, choking, cutting, burning, poisoning, tugging on a person’s clothes. Penalties for battery domestic violence ranges from a misdemeanor up to a Category B Felony which is a minimum imprisonment of 2 days up to a maximum of 15 years, and a fines of $200 up to $15,000.
Learn more about the battery domestic violence by clicking the link below.
NRS 200.481 | Battery Domestic Violence
STALKING IN NEVADA
NRS 200.575a defines stalker as the person who, without lawful authority, willfully or maliciously engages in a course of conduct that would cause a reasonable person to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, harassed or fearful for the immediate safety of a family or household member, and that actually causes the victim to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, harassed or fearful for the immediate safety of a family or household member. In short, stalking is the an act of harassment that would make the person being harassed uncomfortable and fear for their own safety. There are several types of stalking and each has a corresponding penalties attached to it. The first offense is a misdemeanor and subsequent offense will be charges as a gross misdemeanor. Aggravated stalking falls under Category B felony, while cyber stalking and violating protective orders falls under the Category C felonies. The actual penalties can be found by clicking the link below.
NRS 200.575 | Stalking
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CASE RESULTS
This is the list of domestic violence cases that Ross C Goodman handled. The list includes the corresponding charges, initial of the clients, the date of the final hearing and results.
Nevada take drug cases very seriously and as such there are no minor drug crimes in the state. Drug crimes are often accompanied by long prison terms and high fines. However, your charges might be reduced to a lesser offense or dismissed, depending on the seriousness of your case. Here are the list of drug crimes in Nevada:
- Controlled Substance Possession
- Drug Possession for Purpose of Sale
- Drug Sale (Sale of Controlled Substance)
- Drug Trafficking
- Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
- Prescription Fraud and Doctor Shopping
- Under the influence of drugs
Visit this link for additional information about drug charges.
According to Nevada law, not only that it is a crime to use and sell illegal drugs, it is also a crime to possess drug paraphernalia that are used to manufacture illegal drugs. The consequences for this crime is often serious that requires an imprisonment of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 4 years. In addition to that, the court may also impose a fine of not more than $5,000. There are different Felony Categories that are attached to different cases of drug paraphernalia. To know more about it. Please click the link below.
NRS 453.560 | Drug Paraphernalia Crimes
This is the most serious drug crime that a person may commit in Nevada. The penalties for these is very harsh that includes an imprisonment of not less than 1 year and a maximum of up to 25 years and a fine of up to $500,000. The definition of drug trafficking in Nevada “is when a person knowingly sells, manufactures, delivers or bring into this State or who is knowingly in actual or constructive possession of large quantities of schedule I drugs or schedule II drugs.”
NRS 453.3385 | Drug Trafficking
MARIJUANA LAWS IN NEVADA
In Nevada, there are strict regulations that are being followed against marijuana. As such, there are different penalties in relation to marijuana which differs depending on the unauthorized act that a person committed. These unauthorized acts includes: possession, selling, prescribing, transporting, importing, administering, supplying, bartering, dispensing, exchanging, or giving away the marijuana. Penalties range from a simple fine of 600$ with no criminal records up to a maximum 15 years of imprisonment with a fine of not more than $200,000. For a complete list of penalties, visit this link.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS IN LAS VEGAS
There are times when possession and use marijuana is considered legal. That is if a medical professional determine that you suffer from a disease that a marijuana can cure. However, the use of medical marijuana is protected under the Nevada Law, and as such the person must apply to the Nevada State Health Division for a program called Medical Marijuana Program. If the Nevada State Health Division approves the application and had paid the registration fees, the person will receive a registration card that would allow the person to possess and use up to an ounce of marijuana. Take note that he or she is not immune to other crimes related to marijuana such as driving under the influence of marijuana and firearms possession while under the influence of marijuana and the like.
NRS 453A | Medical Marijuana Laws
POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE IN LAS VEGAS
The unlawful possession of controlled substance like drugs, narcotics and the like is considered as a crime in Nevada and is punishable by law without an official prescription from a licensed doctor. According to Nevada’s law, these unlawful possession “is when a person knowingly or intentionally possesses a controlled substance, unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a lawful prescription“. For the first and second offense, the penalty is a Category E felony which involves an imprisonment of a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 4 years. For the third and subsequent offense, the penalty rises into a Category D felony which involves an imprisonment of a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 4 years with a fine of up to $20,000. To learn more about this law, click the link below.
NRS 453.336 | Possession of Controlled Substances
POSSESSION WITH THE INTENT TO SELL
In Nevada, it is also illegal to possess controlled substances with the intent to sell. The penalties here is more severe than the possession of controlled substances alone and often includes high fines and lengthy imprisonment. Penalties ranges from a Category D Felony which is an imprisonment of not less than 1 year and a maximum of 4 years with additional fine of $5,000 up to a Category B Felony which is an imprisonment of not less than 3 years and a maximum of 15 years with additional fine of $20,000.
NRS 453.337 to NRS 453.338 | Possession of Controlled Substances With Intent to Sell
PRESCRIPTION FRAUD AND DOCTOR SHOPPING
Doctor shopping is an act of using more than one supplier, pharmacy, or any medical related institution to obtain a prescription for controlled substances, without the knowledge of the those medical institution. This is clearly stated in the section two of the NRS 453.391 – “while undergoing treatment and being supplied with any controlled substance or a prescription for any controlled substance from one practitioner, knowingly obtain any controlled substance or a prescription for a controlled substance from another practitioner without disclosing this fact to the second practitioner“. The penalty for this is a Class C Felony which is which is an imprisonment of not less than 1 year and a maximum of 4 years with additional fine of not more than $10,000. Click the link below for more information.
NRS 453.391 | Prescription Fraud and Doctor Shopping
Theft crimes are serious offenses and often carry a harsh penalties. There are several theft crimes that are being regulated in Nevada. Here is a list of theft crimes according to Nevada’s law:
- Petit Larceny
- Grand Larceny
- Larceny from a Person/Pick pocketing
- Possession of Stolen Property
- Possession of Stolen Vehicle
- Grand Larcency of Motor Vehicle
Each of these theft crimes has a corresponding penalty when committed. Visit this link for the complete details.
NRS 205.0832 | Theft Crimes
Nevada law defines petit larceny as an act of stealing another person’s goods, valuables, property valued at less than $250. The common cases of petit larceny includes: taking someones pet, shoplifting and stealing from a hotel room. In determining the type of penalty that will be imposed, the court will use the highest value of the alleged stolen property. If the value of the property stolen exceeds $250 then it would be considered as a grand larceny. Petty theft charges are considered as a misdemeanor offense and will constitute a penalty of up to 6 months of imprisonment with a fines of up to $1000 and restitution of the goods or property that are allegedly stolen.
NRS 205.240 |Petty Theft
In Las Vegas, grand larceny is considered as a serious offense and a felony. Penalties are often high and there is a long imprisonment time attached to it. According to NRS 205.220, grand larceny “is an act of intentional stealing of another person’s property, items, or valuables that amounts at more than $650”. The penalties for a grand larceny are Category C Felony for items/properties of at least $650 but less than $3500 and Category B Felony for items/properties valued at $3500 or more.
NRS 205.220 |Grand Larceny
WHITE COLLAR CRIMES
White collar crimes in Nevada are the intentional lying and misinterpretation in order to receive certain benefits and are a very serious offense. The common types of white collar crimes includes securities fraud, identity theft, mortgage fraud and medical insurance fraud. These white collar frauds fall under the Category C felony and Category B Felony which involves the penalty of 1 year up to 20 years of imprisonment with fines reaching $100,000 and the restitution of the monetary amount.
Visit this link for the complete details about white collar crimes.
Traffic violations may seem like a minor matter and is often times disregarded by people. Breaking the traffic rules will grant you a traffic ticket in which you have to pay or fight it in the court. In Nevada, there are three types of tickets such as: parking violation ticket, non-moving violation and moving violations. Whenever you get a traffic ticket there is a certain legal consequences attached to it such as the rising rate of your insurance and the reflection of the violation to your personal records. In some severe cases you may be convicted of a traffic crime these includes: vehicular homicide, manslaughter, driving with a suspended license, reckless driving, dui, hit and run.NRS 484 | Traffic Violations
HIT AND RUN
If you are involved in any vehicular accident that resulted in death or injury and opted to flee the scene then you can be charged with a hit and run case. According to Nevada’s law (NRS 484E), there are certain duties that must be followed in order not to be charged for a hit and run case. These duties are the duty to stop at scene of accident involving death or personal injury and the duty to give information and render aid. The penalties for a hit and run case is a Category B Felony which is an imprisonment of up to 2 years with a fine of $2,000 to $5,000.
NRS 484E | Hit and Run
Nevada’s law defines vehicular homicide when “a person who, while driving or in actual physical control of any vehicle, proximately causes the death of another person through an act or omission that constitutes simple negligence.” Consequently, the driver must fall into a several categories in order to be charged with vehicular homicide. The penalties for a vehicular homicide is a Category A Felony which is a possible imprisonment of no more than 25 years, with parole possible after 10 years.
NRS 484B.657 | Vehicular Homicide
Most traffic violations in Nevada is considered as a misdemeanor and requires a fine of $25 up to $1000. However, failing to settle these minor violations (fines) will result to an issuance of a warrant arrest against you. Traffic violations are categorized into non-moving and moving groups. It is important to take note that moving violations will add demerit points to your driving records while non-moving won’t.
NRS 484 | Traffic Tickets
SEX CRIMES AND OFFENSES
This is one of the most serious sexual crimes in Nevada. The penalties of sexual crimes in Nevada is harsh, if you are convicted then expect lengthy prison terms and a permanent criminal record in your profile. Here is the list of sexual crimes that the Nevada’s law covers :
- Sexual Assault
- Battery Rape
- Statutory Sexual Seduction
- Using a Minor in a Pornography Production
- Open or Gross Lewdness
- Lewdness with a Child Under 14 years old
- Improper Sexual Conduct Between Teachers and Students
Moreover, there sex offenders are grouped into different tiers in order for the community to identify how dangerous they are. Learn more about Sex crimes and offenses by clicking the link below.
NRS 200.366 | Sexual Assault
LAS VEGAS SEXUAL ASSAULT LAWYER
Sex crimes is very serious case and if convicted, you are in serious need of an aggressive and experience lawyer to defend your case. There are possible defenses that your lawyer can use to lessen the charges or better get your case dismissed such as the victim gave their consent, false allegations and lack of proof. Moreover, if the case lacks evidence to prove your guilt. Your lawyer can negotiate a plea bargain and may reduce the charges to battery.
NRS 200.366 | Sexual Assault Lawyer
STATUTORY SEXUAL SEDUCTION
According to Nevada’s law, statutory sexual seduction is an “Ordinary sexual intercourse, anal intercourse, cunnilingus or fellatio committed by a person 18 years of age or older with a person under the age of 16 years; or any other sexual penetration committed by a person 18 years of age or older with a person under the age of 16 years with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust or passions or sexual desires of either of the persons.” If you have been accused and found guilty for statutory rape, you will face harsh penalties that involves a long term of imprisonment and a hefty fines. Regarding penalties, the punishment differs depending on the age of the person who is accused. For 21 years old and above, the penalty falls under the Category C Felony while for 21 years old and below, the penalty falls under the a gross misdemeanor offense.
NRS 200.368 | Statutory Sexual Seduction
NEVADA POST CONVICTION AND CRIMINAL APPEALS
If a person is pronounced guilty of a crime that person still has the right to make an appeal. The appeal is a request to higher court to re-examine and revoke the decision of a lower court. However, that person only has a total of 30 days to file a motion for appeal. When writing an appeal, a comprehensive review must be done by the lawyer that can be a relevant basis for the appeal. Anything that is not written in the appeal will be forfeited and cannot be used by the defendant for future hearings. Learn more about appeals by clicking the link below.
NRS 177 | Appeals
CRIMINAL RECORD SEAL
This is the process of making the charges against a person hidden so that it cannot be retrieved by the public or any private institution. If the criminal record seal is successful, any previous convictions will appear as if they never took place. This process can be done by the person himself and will usually takes six to eight months. But due to a lengthy process and requirements it is practical to hire an experienced Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer for an extra guidance. There are a lot of benefits that a person can gain through the process of record sealing. One is that there will be no problem when it comes to future employment because of the clean record and his or her right to cast a vote has been restored. For a complete details regarding criminal record seal you may click the link below.
NRS 177 | Criminal Record Sealing
LAS VEGAS ARREST
If you have been arrested in Las Vegas, you should know what are the possible options, penalties and the reason why you have been arrested in the first place. Getting arrested does not necessarily mean that you are guilty of the crime committed until proven by the court. Here are the several reasons why you can get arrested in Las Vegas:
- Federal Charges
- Probation Violation
- Drug Possession
- Domestic Violence
- Out of State / Tourist Arrests
- Pool Party / Nightclub Arrests
- Arrest Warrants / Bench Warrants
- Misdemeanor Charges
- Casino Markers
The penalties may vary depending on the severity of the crime and is grouped into different Categories. These Categories are grouped using letters from A up to E including misdemeanors. Category A being the most severe and misdemeanor the mildest. For a complete details regarding Las Vegas arrests you may click this link.
This misdemeanor charges is the least serious offense that one can commit in the state of Nevada. The penalties associated with misdemeanor are imprisonment of not more than 6 months and a fine of not more than $1,000. The common misdemeanor charges in Nevada are: assault, battery, DUI, local drug possession, prostitution, trespassing, vandalism, shoplifting, resisting arrest and traffic tickets. Gross misdemeanor charges is the other form of misdemeanor which involves a longer imprisonment time (not more than 1 year) and a larger fine (not more than ($2,000). The common gross misdemeanor charges in Nevada are: stalking, false imprisonment, indecent exposure, open or gross lewdness and possession of 1 oz. or less of marijuana.
NRS 193.140 | Misdemeanor Charges
Felony is the most serious crime in Nevada. A person charged with felony will suffer from harsh penalties. The penalties regarding felonies are divided into different Categories – Category A Felony up to Category E Felony with E being the least serious. If a person is charged with felony, there will always be a mandatory jail time of not more than 1 year up (Category E) up to life imprisonment (Category A). When a person is charged with a felony, he or she must appear in the court for a series of hearings. In addition to that, anyone who is facing an imprisonment of more than 6 months is entitled to a trial by jury that will take place in Las Vegas Justice Court. For full details regarding felony you may click the link below.
NRS 193.130 | Felony Charges
These are the charges filed against someone who is accused of having violated a federal statute or law. These federal charges often carry a harsher penalties than the state law violations. When you have been charged with federal offense, you would have to go several procedures as prescribed by the federal government. The first step is a detention hearing within the 3 days after the arrest and a preliminary hearing within 10 days of arrest. If the judge finds that a probable cause does exist then the case will move to the arraignment process. Unless there is a plea agreement, the case will then move to trial. Learn more about the federal charges by clicking here.
OUT OF STATE/TOURIST ARREST
We all know why Las Vegas is dubbed as the “Sin City”. This is because the city is famous for its entertainment, night life, shopping and gambling therefore tourist from all over the world and from the other States are paying Las Vegas a visit. However, there are a lot of people who does not know Nevada’s law and ended up breaking it. Here is the list of the most common charges faced by Las Vegas’ tourist :
- Unsettled Casino Markers
- Drug/Marijuana Possession
- Open or Gross Lewdness
- Writing Bad Checks
If you wanted to visit Las Vegas, it is important that you follow the rules set by the state. You may want to visit this link for more information.
SEARCH FOR CRIMINAL CASE IN NEVADA
Clark County Justice Courts – For Henderson, North Las Vegas, Boulder City, Bunkerville, Goodsprings, Laughlin, Mesquite, Moapa, Searchlight Justice Courts. This website is optimized through Internet Explorer.
Las Vegas Justice Court – This is the main website for Las Vegas Township Justice Court. This is where you can find the judicial case activity, list of holidays, telephone directories, court rules and order and more!
Las Vegas Municipal Court – You can lookup your court case report in their website by entering your court case number, search for an in-mate, emergency information, maps, meeting and agendas and more. Moroever, their website also features Las Vegas’ facts, statistics and history.
SEARCH FOR AN INMATE IN JAIL
Clark County Detention Center – Search for inmate(s) that are detained in Clark County Detention Center. You can search the inmate using the inmate’s name, Inmate’s ID (preferred) or using the Justice Court Case Number.
Humboldt County Detention Center – This page will direct you to a complete list of inmates detained in Humboldt County Detention Center. The list features the inmate’s full name along with their respective charges.
Henderson Detention Center – A simple website for Henderson Detention Center, you can only search for inmates using their “names”.
Las Vegas Detention Center – This link will redirect you to the official page of Las Vegas, Nevada. You can search for the inmate using the last name, first name, Inmate ID (preferred).
Nevada Prisons – Their inmate search is temporarily down at the moment. We will notify you if their search function is back.
Washoe County Detention Facility – Their search function only requires you to enter the inmate’s last name. Their website also give out the full detail of the inmate including their housing unit, reason for charge, bail amount and the like. Moreover, they frequently update their website every 15 minutes so if you need to search for a new inmate you are guaranteed to see it on their list.
Search For Nevada Laws, Codes & Statutes
Nevada Revised Statutes – Looking for a particular Nevada law? You can find it here. This website offers a complete list of Nevada Revised Statues.
Nevada Constitution – If you are looking for the complete Nevada Constitution then you can find it here.
Nevada Court Rules – If you are on a trial or just wanted a reference for the Court Rules, then this is the page that you are looking for.
U.S. Code – This link will redirect you to the official page of “United States Code”. If you are looking for a certain code then you can enter it in search box provided. Otherwise, you can browse the codes by clicking the drop down button.
Bail Schedules in Nevada (by court)
Churchill County Justice Court bail schedule – This link will redirect you to a document view of the current bail schedule. The document includes the appropriate NRS, section, violation and the exact bail amount.
Las Vegas Municipal Court bail schedule – This is a pdf version of the bail schedule shown in landscape view. *Note: this is a little bit complicated to view because of the many details.
Las Vegas Township Justice Court bail schedule – the bail schedule for Clark County. The different crimes are grouped together for easy viewing.
Pahrump Justice Court bail schedule – A single page pdf version of the bail schedule of Pahrump Justice Court.
Reno Municipal Court bail schedule – A 42 page pdf version of the Reno Municipal Bail Schedule, the list are divided into their correspoding categories like alcoholic beverages, street performers, rules of the road, etc.
Washoe County bail schedule – This link will redirect you to the scanned page of the bail schedule for the Washoe County. The list was last updated on February 14, 2012 and is still in effect.
External links For Different Treatment Centers and Counseling
Alcoholics Anonymous – Alcoholic Anonymous is an international fellowship that is dedicated in curing everyone’s drinking problem. There are no age or education requirements to join their fellowship. If you want to seek counseling about your drinking problem. Then feel free to contact Alcoholics Anonymous.
Cocaine Anonymous – Cocaine Anonymous is a fellowship dedicated to users of Cocaine. If you need a group to share your experience, give hope, or in need of help with your “cocaine” problem. Then visit their website as you please.
Narcotics Anonymous – Their website is beautifully built while maintaining user-friendliness as much as possible. You can easily locate other members and meeting place by using their search engine.
Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA) – They are an international community dedicated in preventing sexual abuse through the disbursement of information about the research, assessment and treatment of individuals.
Sex Addicts Anonymous – They are a fellowship of men and women that will help you cure your the problems with sex addiction through a their 12-step program. They have a meeting place all over the United States and their requirements is that your desire to stop addictive sexual behavior.
Domestic Violence Victims
Nevada Network Against Domestic Violence – They offer a list of domestic violence shelters, temporary housings, food and financial assistance and more. However, they only cater in whole Nevada. If you think you or your loved one needs help please visit their website.
Gamblers Anonymous – Are you addicted to gambling or a victim of gambling? Visit their website. They will help you!