DUI and Concealed Carry Permits in Las Vegas
Concealed Carry Permits and DUI
Concealed carry weapons are a common thing across the State of Nevada these days. Many people choose to go for concealed carry as a means of self-defense, allowing them to go about their business without scaring other people by having their personal firearms kept out of sight. They can also go about their daily routines with their firearms within arm’s reach but conveniently out of way to avoid being a nuisance.
While Nevada does allow its citizens and several out-of-state individuals to practice their right to conceal carry, the State is also serious about immediately invoking their duty of protecting their citizens from untoward harm by taking away these firearms due to breaches in the law. Specifically, sheriffs have the obligation to revoke any permits granted to people who have been recently convicted of driving while intoxicated. This is often the result of the gun owner in question overlooking the issue while communicating with his DUI Defense attorney until the local county mails him to request a return of his permit.
The State has the responsibility of protecting its citizens from harm. As such, they will automatically revoke the license of a person that is determined to habitually intake alcohol and controlled substances at a significant rate, or has been discovered to be convicted for DUI or DWI within the past 5 years, pursuant to State laws.
- Similar rules apply if the gun owner has an outstanding warrant of any kind. This means that bench warrants resulting from putting off a DUI court date can possibly lead to a permit revocation.
- Directly negotiating with the authorities about the permit revocation over a DUI charge is not advisable. This only leads to a possible escalation from the Sheriff’s office, with harsher penalties as a consequence.
Getting a concealed carry permit revoked is not the only penalty a gun owner can have if it is found out that he or she has been convicted, or has a standing warrant for, DUI or DWI. Other harsher penalties can be exacted in relation to this, as listed in Nevada’s revised statutes.
- On top of his or her legal dues for being convicted with drunk or intoxicated driving, the gun owner will have to deal with additional jail time, anywhere from one year to a maximum of six years. This is because violating this particular provision is regarded as a Class B felony, and thus merits severe punishment.
- On top of that, the gun owner also has to worry about additional fines payable to the State. Besides the DUI fines, disobeying the sub-provision noted above fetches a hefty fee of not more than $5,000, a steep price to add to an already growing list of payables due to drunk driving.
Gun owners need not fret over losing their rights to conceal carry their firearms if they communicate this possibility early on with their lawyer. Only with proper communication between the client and his or her lawyer can this collateral damage caused by the DUI charge be avoided safely.
- Concealed carry owners should not hesitate to notify their defense attorney about their current status as gun owners, and the possibility of their permit revocation because of their DUI arrest and possible conviction. Only then can the lawyer formulate the proper course of action in defending his or her client and ensuring that the trial proceedings will not lead to a revocation.
- DUI lawyers will do whatever it takes to ensure that their clients will not only be safe from a DUI conviction, but also will be able to keep their firearms. If they cannot achieve a full dismissal of the case, these lawyers will ensure that they will at least get a verdict for an amended charge of Reckless Driving, which does not violate Nevada’s gun laws.
DUI charges have consequences that are not just limited to the steering wheel. Do not think of any DUI case as minor cases that can be ignored. Seek immediate help from DUI Lawyer Ross Goodman to avoid any collateral damage that can affect even the right to conceal carry weapons.